HMNAO banner

[Skip to Content]

HM Nautical Almanac Office: Miscellanea

Sunrise/set times for the United Kingdom - May

The map below shows isochrones or lines linking places with the same times of sunrise (green lines) and sunset (red lines) for the United Kingdom for mid-May. These lines show the position of the terminator, the boundary between the illuminated and dark areas of the Earth, as it sweeps across the face of the globe. At this time of the year the terminator for sunrise runs north west to south east and that for sunset runs north east to south west. The Shetland Isles see the earliest sunrise and the Isles of Scilly have the latest sunrise. The earliest sunset takes place in south-east Kent and the latest sunset takes place on the Isle of Lewis. The time system used in the map is British Summer Time (BST) which can be regarded as UTC plus one hour for the purposes of this exercise. For example, we can see that sunrise in Newcastle occurs at 05:00 BST and sunset in London occurs at 20:45 BST.

UK Sunrise/set times for May

If the United Kingdom elected to move to Central European Summer time (CEST), two hours in advance of UTC for the Spring and Summer months, this would mean darker mornings and lighter evenings. For example, sunrise in London would take place at 06:10 CEST and sunset would take place at 21:45 CEST. In Glasgow, sunrise would take place 06:06 CEST and sunset at 22:22 CEST. In the case of Northern Ireland, sunrise times would occur between 06:15 CEST and 06:30 CEST. Stornoway would see the Sun rise at 06:01 CEST and set at 22:44 CEST.

Sunrise/set times for mid-May
United Kingdom
SunriseSunset SunriseSunset
Lerwick 04:2721:36 05:2722:36
Kirkwall 04:4221:36 05:4222:36
Stornoway 05:0121:44 06:0122:44
Inverness 04:5721:31 05:5722:31
Aberdeen 04:5021:21 05:5022:21
Edinburgh 05:0121:18 06:0122:18
Glasgow 05:0621:22 06:0622:22
Londonderry05:2321:30 06:2322:30
Newcastle 05:0021:07 06:0022:07
Carlisle 05:0521:12 06:0522:12
Belfast 05:1921:22 06:1922:22
Douglas IoM05:1521:14 06:1522:14
Leeds 05:0521:01 06:0522:01
Hull 05:0120:56 06:0121:56
Manchester 05:0921:02 06:0922:02
Liverpool 05:1221:05 06:1222:05
Leicester 05:0920:54 06:0921:54
Norwich 04:5920:44 05:5921:44
Birmingham 05:1220:56 06:1221:56
Aberystwyth05:2121:05 06:2122:05
Ipswich 05:0220:42 06:0221:42
Cardiff 05:2220:58 06:2221:58
London 05:1020:45 06:1021:45
Dover 05:0520:38 06:0521:38
Southampton05:1720:48 06:1721:48
Exeter 05:2620:56 06:2621:56
Penzance 05:3721:01 06:3722:01
St. Helier 05:2620:44 06:2621:44
© Crown Copyright 2008-2021 / Privacy Policy
Last modified: Wednesday, 10 April 2013 at 16:32:15 BST